New Travel Writer of the Year 2023: longlisted entries

The three finalists will be announced in January 2023 along with the Commended entries.

Thank you to everyone who entered our New Travel Writer of the Year competition. The standard of entries was as high as ever this year and we’re delighted to announce an exceptionally strong longlist. Congratulations to all the following writers.

What Was Left Behind – Emma Willsteed

Looking for the Dog – Cathy Robinson

In Search of the Silver Lining – Claire Morsman

Outside Uncle Enver’s House – Joel Day

On Thin Ice – Moira Ashley

An Unforgettable Day in Iran – Ruth Millington

Sublime Svalbard – Annabel Jackson Prow

Passage – Joanna Griffin

All You Can Eat – Chris Baker

What happens next?

Three finalists will be chosen from the nine longlisted entries at the end of January. These three finalists will be invited to the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards ceremony in March, where the overall winner will be announced.

The winner receives a three-night stay for two people on the West Iceland Escape trip at Glacier Lodge, sponsored by Discover the World and Play. They will be commissioned to write an article about their trip which will be published in Wexas Traveller magazine, as well as on the Bradt and Discover the World websites.

We’ll also be revealing the Commended entries then – those that didn’t quite make the longlist but were none the less greatly enjoyed by the judges. So do keep an eye out for announcements!