Cotswolds (Slow Travel)

Including Stratford-upon-Avon, Oxford & Bath

Cotswolds (Slow Travel) guide. Expert local advice and holiday tips on everything from the best pubs, markets and B&Bs to hidden secrets, castles and country houses. Also covers walking routes, guided tours, local crafts and events, Highgrove House, Bath, Oxford, Wiltshire, Stratford-upon-Avon, Four Shires, Thames Valley and local cuisine.

Published:  12th Mar 2024
Size:  130 X 198 mm
Edition:  3
Number of pages:  328
Format AvailableQuantityPrice
ISBN: 9781804691717
In stock
£16.99 £15.29
eBook (ePUB)
ISBN: 9781804692660
£13.99 £12.59

About this book

In this new, thoroughly updated third edition of Bradt’s The Cotswolds, part of Bradt’s distinctive ‘Slow travel’ series of guides to UK regions, local resident and experienced travel writer Caroline Mills shares her favourite places in a region that remains as popular as ever.
Drawing on more than 50 years’ living in the Cotswolds, and combining engaging first-person narrative with authoritative advice, Mills slows readers down and helps them delve deeply into a range of regions: the Cotswolds National Landscape Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB); the Cotswold escarpment, hills and valleys; the Wiltshire Cotswolds and the area known as the Four Shires; three Cotswold ‘gateways’ (Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath and Oxford); the lesser-known ‘hidden’ fringes of the Cotswolds; the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, which follow much of the youthful Thames Valley; and the Cotswold Way National Trail.
The Cotswolds’ rich man-made heritage includes Oxford University (the world’s oldest); many famous castles and country houses (including Blenheim Palace and Sudeley Castle), well-known abbeys such as Prinknash; and estates including Westonbirt Arboretum and Highgrove (the private home of King Charles III and the Queen Consort). Roman history is covered too, notably in Bath and Cirencester, together with the Fosse Way, one of the UK’s most important Roman roads.
The guide adds colour through interviews with local residents who bring character to the region; activities to try with children; handpicked places to eat, drink and stay (from glamping and country-house hotels to B&Bs on working farms); coverage of the Arts & Crafts movement; numerous options for car-free travel; and quirky events such Gloucestershire’s annual cheese-rolling competition and Tetbury’s Woolsack Races.
With a harmonious combination of quintessentially English villages, charming provincial market towns, appealing countryside and a wealth of local food-and-drink producers makes the Cotswolds an all-year-round destination, whether for a day trip, a quiet weekend away or a multi-week holiday. Whether your interests comprise formal gardens or crafts, historic buildings or horseriding, walking or gastronomy, Bradt’s Cotswolds (Slow Travel) is your perfect guide to facilitate in-depth exploration and intense enjoyment.

Before ordering ebooks from us, please check out our ebook information.

About the Author

Although officially a freelance travel and guidebook writer with 35 years’ experience in publishing, Caroline Mills ( is essentially a country girl. While she loves to visit the towns and cities of Europe, she likes nothing better than to return to the farm where she lives with her husband and three children, on the edge of the Cotswolds. Having moved no more than five miles from where she grew up – also in the Cotswolds – she has been able to call the region home for more than 50 years. With a keen desire to see the area maintain its identity, keeping old traditions alive, and with a passionate love of the countryside in which she lives, she is well placed to paint a very personal picture of this special place. It is this vast in-depth knowledge of the region that led her to write Cotswolds (Slow Travel) for Bradt.

Additional Information

Table of Contents

Going Slow in the Cotswolds
Chapter 1 Cotswold Gateways
Chapter 2 North Cotswolds
Chapter 3 Four Shires
Chapter 4 High Cotswolds
Chapter 5 The Thames Tributaries
Chapter 6 Thames Valley
Chapter 7 The Southern Cotswold Scarp & Five Valleys
Chapter 8 Wiltshire Cotswolds