New Travel Writer of the Year 2017 – longlist

We reveal the longlist for our New Travel Writer of the Year competition 2017.

Written by Bradt Travel Guides


Travel writing banner

The time has come to reveal the longlist for our New Travel Writer of the Year competition! The standard has been really high this year, and the judging panel had a tough time coming up with this list of 16 entries. You can read some thoughts from Janice Booth, preliminary judge and Bradt author, here

Entries are judged anonymously throughout, so the longlist below appears with no names, only the titles of entries. The final judging session will take place in a little under a fortnight’s time. During this session the judges will settle on a shortlist of three entrants, who will be invited to a special awards dinner in London in early February, at which the winner will be announced.

Congratulations to everyone who has made the longlist!  


Mabrat Yellem – Joanna Griffin

The Village Sledge Run – Alan Packer

Yes. No. It’s a little difficult. – Chris Walsh

Highly Commended

Between the Living and the Dead – Suzy Pope

Girona’s city walls – Gabi Reigh


Rickshaw! Rickshaw! – Henry Guyer

A Small Thing to Carry – Mandy Huggins 

Life and Death in Siberia – Kate Marsden


Keeping the Faith – Moira Ashley

The Road Accidentally Taken – Cassie Bailey

Dog Songs of the Arctic – Kelsey Camacho

Lost and embarrassed in translation – Celia Dillow

Kanga Woes – Khadija Mcbain

One Language, Two Cultures – Araba Shaw

Whispers in Rio – Roland Vargish

Dantanatanas – Chuck Warren



Edward Stanfords   Discover the World logo

Interreg Nord logoTimeless Travels logo