New Travel Writer of the Year 2016 – longlist

Bradt founder Hilary Bradt reveals the longlist for the New Travel Writer of the Year competition 2016.

Written by Hilary Bradt


I spent the quiet period after Christmas happily reading through the competition entries with preliminary judge, Janice Booth, so that we could compile a long list to go forward to the final judging. The standard was extraordinarily high – particularly since this is the first year the competition has only been open to unpublished writers – and it took many re-readings and discussions to agree the long list. It was genuinely a pleasure to read so many gripping, moving or amusing stories.

If your name appears below, you are still a contender for the big prize. The last judging stage – as always, conducted ‘blind’ so that judges don’t know who wrote the pieces they read – will take place shortly, and the three finalists will be invited to the awards ceremony at a gala dinner in London on the evening of Thursday 2 February. I will notify the three finalists by midnight on 23 January by email, and their names will also be posted on the website. 

Hilary Bradt

New Travel Writer of the Year 2016 longlist

  • Moira Ashley
  • Kristen Braund
  • Jenni Clapham
  • James Courtright
  • Matt Dawson
  • Celia Dillow
  • Sophy Downes
  • Maddie Grigg
  • Louise Hare
  • Joe Haywood
  • Mary Hopewell
  • Mandy Huggins
  • Jane Lowes
  • Vanessa Malandrin
  • Kate Marsden
  • Caitlin McDonald
  • Suzy Pope
  • Jenny Scott
  • Suchita Shah
  • Dom Tulett
  • Roland Vargish
  • Liz Vernon
  • Tom Walsh
  • Pat Warburton
  • Lynn Watkins
  • Joseph Wilsdon
 Note: Finalists will be eligible to win the main prize regardless of their ability to attend the awards ceremony. 

If you have any questions about the competition, including the judging process, please contact


Edward Stanfords   TravelLocal Logo