New Travel Writer of the Year 2016 – finalists

Bradt founder Hilary Bradt reveals the finalists in the New Travel Writer of the Year competition 2016.

Written by Bradt Travel Guides


The decision is made! The five judges spent nearly four hours discussing the 26 longlisted entries and whittling them down to three finalists. Each judge came to the meeting with a list of their top five choices. The winner stood out with four votes, but selecting the two runners-up was particularly difficult. As many as 17 others were in contention, and these all earn a ‘highly commended’ or ‘commended’ mention below. It takes time to compare the structure, language and narrative power in so many pieces of such high quality. But we are all very happy that we not only made the right choice but that there are some exceptionally talented travel writers out there. We plan to feature as many of their stories as possible on our website in coming months.

So, with suitable drum roll, the finalists – each invited to the Gala Awards dinner on Thursday 2nd February, and in with a chance to win a safari holiday for two to Uganda provided by Travel Local – are:

Sophy Downes, for her tale of Iranian fortune telling, Esfahan.

Suchita Shah, for her story of a confrontation with the authorities in Uganda, Enguzi

Dom Tulett, for his story of tiger-tracking in Nepal, The Tiger’s Tail.

Click here to read the shortlisted entries. 

Highly commended:

  • Moira Ashley
  • Celia Dillow
  • Joe Haywood
  • Kate Marsden
  • Jenny Scott
  • Liz Vernon
  • Pat Warburton


  • James Courtright
  • Matt Dawson
  • Maddie Grigg
  • Louise Hare
  • Jane Lowes
  • Suzy Pope
  • Tom Walsh
  • Lynn Watkins


Congratulations to this very talented bunch of travel writers! 

If you have any questions about the competition, including the judging process, please contact


Edward Stanfords   TravelLocal Logo