Serbia at a glance

Location In the central part of the Balkan Peninsula of southeast Europe, with Hungary to the north, Romania to the northeast, Bulgaria to the southeast, Albania and Macedonia to the south, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the west, Montenegro in the southwest and Croatia to the northwest. Kosovo, unrecognised by Serbia as an independent republic, also lies to the south.

Status Republic, formerly part of a loose union with Montenegro, which voted for full independence in 2006. Kosovo declared unilateral independence in 2008.

Size 77,474km²

Climate A temperate, continental climate, with warm summers up to 30°C and snowy winters down to –5°C, colder in mountain areas

Longest river The Danube (588km), flowing west to east through Serbia

Highest peak Midžor (2,169m)

Population 7,041,600 (2016 estimate excluding Kosovo). 83% Serbs, 4% Hungarians, 2% Bosniaks, and Romanians, Croatians, Bulgarians, Roma and Vlachs among a total of 37 minority groups.

Government Parliamentary democracy

Capital Belgrade (metropolitan population approximately 1.65 million)

Other major cities and towns Novi Sad (280,000), Niš (260,000), Kragujevac (180,000), Subotica (100,000)

Language The official language is Serbian, which is written in both the Cyrillic and Latin alphabets

Religion The main religion is Serbian Orthodox with Catholic, Protestant and Muslim minorities

Weights and measures Metric system

Time GMT+1

Currency Serbian dinar (1 dinar = 100 para)

Exchange rate £1 = 146din, US$1 = 116din, €1 = 124din (April 2017)

International telephone code +381

Electricity 220 volts AC, 50Hz. Round, two-pin sockets.

Public holidays 1 January (New Year), 7 January (Orthodox Christmas), 14 January (Orthodox New Year), 15 February (Constitution Day), 1–2 May (Labour Days), Orthodox Easter is variable, 11 November (Armistice Day)

Flag Red, blue and white horizontal stripes with Serbian coat of arms

Back to the top