North Macedonia at a glance

Country name Republic of North Macedonia 

Status Independent republic since 1991 through referendum

Languages Macedonian (Cyrillic alphabet), Albanian, Turkish dialects, Roma, Serb dialects

Population 2,084,367 (2017 estimate, Macedonian State Statistical Office): ethnic Macedonian 64.2%, Albanian 25.2%, Turkish 3.9%, Roma 2.7%, Serb 1.8%, other 2.2%

Religion Orthodox Christian, Sunni and dervish Muslim, Roman Catholic, Methodist

Government Parliamentary democracy

Main political parties Governing coalition: SDSM (Social Democratic Party of Macedonia), DUI (Democratic Union of Integration) and the SPM (Socialist Party of Macedonia); in opposition: VMRO-DPMNE (Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organisation-Democratic Party of Macedonian National Unity), NDR (National Democratic Revival) and DPA (Democratic Party of Albanians)

President Gjorge Ivanov 

Prime minister Zoran Zaev

Municipalities 80, of which 10 constitute the City of Skopje

Capital Skopje

Other major towns Bitola, Kumanovo, Ohrid, Prilep, Štip, Strumica, Tetovo

Border countries Albania, Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece

Area 25,713km²

National parks Mavrovo, Galičica, Pelister

UNESCO protected area Ohrid Lake and town

Total length of roads 10,591km (surfaced: 6,000km)

Total railway 922km

Airports 17 (international airports are Skopje and Ohrid)

Time GMT+1

Currency Denar (MKD) (for up-to-date exchange rates, go to

GDP Official: US$10.9bn (World Bank, 2016); Purchasing Power Parity (PPP): US$31.55bn (World Bank, 2017)

Average annual income US$5,015 (GNI Atlas Method, World Bank, 2016); GNI per capita PPP US$14,500 (World Bank 2016)

International telephone code +389

Electricity 220 volts AC. Sockets are round two-pin.

Flag A yellow oval at the centre emanating eight yellow segments against a red background

National anthem ‘Today above Macedonia’ (Денес над Македонија)

National flower Poppy

National animal Lion (Panthera leo); Balkan lynx; Ohrid trout

National holidays 1–2 January (New Year), 7 January (Orthodox Christmas), April (usually) (Easter), 1–2 May (Labour ‘Day’), 2 August (Ilinden), 8 September (Referendum Day), 11 October (National Day, also referred to as Revolution Day)

Back to the top