North Macedonia - At a glance

Macedonia at a glance

Country name (as recognised internationally) Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM)

Constitutional name Republika Makedonija (Република Македонија)

Status Independent republic since 1991 through referendum

Languages Macedonian (Cyrillic alphabet), Albanian, Turkish dialects, Roma, Serb dialects

Population 2,064,032 (2013 estimate, Macedonian State Statistical Office): ethnic Macedonian 64.2%, Albanian 25.2%, Turkish 3.9%, Roma 2.7%, Serb 1.8%, other 2.2%

Religion Orthodox Christian, Sunni and dervish Muslim, Roman Catholic, Methodist

Government Parliamentary democracy

Main political parties Governing coalition: VMRO-DPMNE (Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organisation-Democratic Party of Macedonian National Unity), DUI (Democratic Union of Integration); in opposition: SDSM (Social Democratic Party of Macedonia), NDR (National Democratic Revival) and DPA (Democratic Party of Albanians)

President Gjorge Ivanov (next presidential elections 2014)

Prime minister Nikola Gruevski (next parliamentary elections 2015)

Municipalities 84, plus the City of Skopje = 85

Capital Skopje

Other major towns Bitola, Kumanovo, Ohrid, Prilep, Štip, Strumica, Tetovo

Border countries Albania, Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece

Area 25,713km²

National parks Mavrovo, Galičica, Pelister

UNESCO protected area Ohrid Lake and town

Total length of roads 10,591km (surfaced: 6,000km)

Total railway 922km

Airports 17 (international airports are Skopje and Ohrid)

Highest point Mount Korab 2,753m, bordering Albania

Lowest point River Vardar at Gevgelija border crossing: 45m above sea level

Time GMT+1

Currency Denar (MKD) (for up-to-date exchange rates, go to

GDP Official: US$9.12bn (World Bank, 2010); Purchasing Power Parity (PPP): US$19.46bn

Average annual income US$4,520 (World Bank, 2010)

International telephone code +389

Electricity 220 volts AC. Sockets are round two-pin.

Flag A yellow oval at the centre emanating eight yellow segments against a red background

National anthem ‘Today above Macedonia’ (Денес над Македонија)

National flower Poppy

National animal Lion (Panthera leo); Balkan lynx; Ohrid trout

National holidays 1–2 January (New Year), 7 January (Orthodox Christmas), April (usually) (Easter), 1–2 May (Labour ‘Day’), 2 August (Ilinden), 8 September (Referendum Day), 11 October (National Day)

Endangered indigenous species Ohrid trout

Back to the top