Equatorial Guinea at a glance

Location West Central Africa. The main island, Bioko, is approximately 40km off the coast of Cameroon. The island of Corisco is 30km southwest of the Río Muni estuary, which divides Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. The island of Annobón is 180km southwest of São Tomé. The mainland continental territory, Río Muni, is bordered by Gabon to the east and south and Cameroon to the north.

Size 28,051km2 (Río Muni 26,003km2 , Bioko island 2,017km2 , Annobón island 17.5km2 , Corisco island 14km2 plus several uninhabited islets)

Status Independent republic

Government Multi-party democracy; presidential system

Population 722,254 (international estimate July 2014): Bubi, Pygmy, Bantu, Spanish, Portuguese, Angolan, Creole descent, mixed-race

Life expectancy 54 (estimated 2012)

Capital Malabo on Bioko island (new capital Oyala under construction in Río Muni)

Economy Oil, gas, subsistence farming

Religion Roman Catholic (83%), Protestant (6%), indigenous religious beliefs (5%), Muslim (<1%)

Currency Central African CFA franc (CFA or XAF). Also the euro (€), which is widely used, and the US dollar (US$)

International telephone code +240

Time WAT (West Africa Time), UTC/GMT +1 hour

Electricity supply 220V round, European two-pin sockets

Flag A coat of arms in grey with a silk cotton tree and above, six yellow stars on three horizontal bands of green, white and red with a blue isosceles triangle on the hoist. Under the coat of arms is the motto: Unidad, Paz, Justicia (Unity, Peace, Justice).

Public holidays 1 January, Good Friday, 1 May, Corpus Christi Feast, 5 June, 3 August, 15 August, 12 October, 8 December, 25 December

Back to the top